Upper Pittsgrove Board of Education

The purpose of the Upper Pittsgrove School District is to prepare children for the future by creating a climate of high expectations for academic achievement which will lead to success in life, through a partnership between family and community.  We will seek to provide an environment characterized by mutual respect, caring, and personal support to acquire the attitudes, knowledge, and skills necessary to become successful.

In support of this, we are committed to:

1.    Provide a strong academic program in all general  education areas that will stimulate continual student interest.

2.    Insure the a creative and flexible method of assessment of instruction, curriculum and student achievement is in place.

3.    Provide quality instruction in all classes by challenging each student to work towards their potential.

4.    Establish and maintain effective communication with staff, parents and community.

5.    Teach children that education is life-long.

 

                                           

 

President
Veronica (Ronny) Merriel
Current Term: 2016
vmerriel@upsmailbox.net 

Vice-President
Polly Deal
Current Term: 2018
pdeal@upsmailbox.net 

Members
Dan Belisario
Current Term: 2017
dbelisario@upsmailbox.net 

Valerie Hill
Current Term: 2017
vhill@upsmailbox.net 

Michael Kinney
Current Term: 2017
mkinney@upsmailbox.net 

Daniel McArdle
Current Term: 2018
dmcardle@upsmailbox.net 

Michael Reed
Current Term: 2016
mreed@upsmailbox.net 

William Schermerhorn
Current Term: 2016
bschermerhorn@upsmailbox.net 

Brian Wirth
Current Term: 2018
bwirth@upsmailbox.net 

 

Board of Education Committees

Budget/Finance    
Michael Reed, Chair               
Polly Deal
Brian Wirth                               

Curriculum
Daniel McArdle, Chair
Valerie Hill
Polly Deal

Personnel/Negotiations
Bill Schermerhorn, Chair
Valerie Hill
Michael Kinney

Policy
Brian Wirth, Chair
Daniel McArdle
Bill Schermerhorn

Transportation/Property
Dan Belisario, Chair
Michael Kinney
Michael Reed

Quad District Leadership
Michael Kinney
Bill Schermerhorn
Daniel McArdle

Shared Services
Ronny Merriel
Valerie Hill
Brian Wirth 

PTO Executive
Ronny Merriel

School Improvement Team
Polly Deal
Ronny Merriel
Valerie Hill 

Township Committee
Daniel McArdle
Ronny Merriel

Clement Newkirk Scholarship
Daniel McArdle
Dan Belisario

Latchkey
Ronny Merriel

Municipal Alliance
Ronny Merriel
Valerie Hill 

Salem County & New Jersey School Boards Association
Polly Deal
Ronny Merriel

Woodstown-Pilesgrove Regional Board Representative
Michael Kinney